Situating Science: CALL FOR WORKSHOP PROPOSALS

Situating Science: Cluster in the Humanist and Social Studies of Science

CALL FOR WORKSHOP PROPOSALS:

Situating Science is a SSHRC-funded Strategic Knowledge Cluster, mandated to build networks among scholars, Canadian and international, in the various disciplines engaged in the humanistic and social study of science and technology, and to engage the work of these scholars with the wider Canadian public.

Situating Science is soliciting workshop proposals for the 2010 – 2011 academic year. Up to two workshops will be funded (up to $10,000 each). Workshop topics should fall under one of the four themes of the Cluster:

  • Science and its Publics
  • Historical Epistemology and Ontology (including philosophy of science)
  • Material Culture and Scientific/Technological Practices
  • Geography and Sites of Knowing

Detailed information on the themes can be found at http://www.situsci.ca. The themes are intended to be broad and flexible. If in doubt as to whether your proposed topic fits within one of the themes, contact your local SituSci organisers or the SituSci central office (contact info below).

In accordance with SituSci’s mandate, organisers are encouraged to seek inter-disciplinary participation (from within and/or outside the academy), and, where feasible, include a public component to their event. We also entertain proposals that include plans for an associated pedagogical component (e.g., 2-3 day “school”).

The Cluster will provide financial and organisational support, with the expectation that organisers will leverage additional funding from partnering institutions.

The Proposal should be no more than three pages, including:

  • Workshop title
  • Cluster theme under which workshop falls
  • Short description of workshop
  • Possible participants
  • Preliminary budget
  • Potential sources of outside funding
  • Possible inter-disciplinary partnerships (e.g., museums, journalists, etc.)
  • Preliminary plans for involvement of students
  • Possible date

Proposals and queries are to be sent to the local SituSci organiser:

  • West Coast:
    • Alan Richardson, UBC: alanr@interchange.ubc.ca
  • Alberta:
    • Robert Smith, U. Alberta: robert.smith@ualberta.ca
  • Saskatchewan
    • Larry Stewart, U. Saskatchewan: l.stewart@usask.ca
  • Ontario
    • Bernie Lightman, York U.: lightman@yorku.ca
  • Quebec
    • Yves Gingras, UQAM: gingras.yves@uqam.ca
    • Nicholas Dew, McGill: nicholas.dew@mcgill.ca
  • Atlantic:
    • Melanie Frappier University of King’s College: melanie.frappier@ukings.ns.ca,
    • Letitia Meynell, Dalhousie University: letitia.meynell@dal.ca

Or to the SituSci central office at: situsci@dal.ca
902 422-1271 x 200

The deadline for submissions is Friday, October 1, 2010

Comments are closed.