View PDF Here

Defining Moments Canada (DMC), a digital heritage education platform, is seeking external consultants, experts, scholars, and writers to contribute insightful, project-relevant articles and/or strategic educational development to their website – in this case, for the purposes of the NobelCanadian commemorative project.

Following our commemoration of Dr. Gerhard Herzberg’s 1971 Nobel Prize win in Physics for his contributions to the study of spectroscopy, Defining Moments Canada will be showcasing Canada’s other Nobel stories. NobelCanadian explores laureates and prizes which are connected to Canada through birth, scholarship, place of work, or other factors. These notable figures in science, literature, and politics have had major impacts on society, but often their stories – and the historical context surrounding their work – is unfamiliar to many Canadians.

A core goal of the project is to profile a curated list of Nobel Laureates and, although content creation has already begun, there are still Laureates and topics in need of exploration. Those who need to be profiled are listed below. In addition, DMC are also seeking to feature pieces which add nuance to this historical conversation: themes of under-representation in science, questions of Nobel nationalism, discussions about the significance of international achievements like the Nobel, and resources which adapt these historical works for the Canadian classroom.

Individuals in Need of Content: 

Defining Moments Canada will accept proposals from writers of all disciplines for submissions related to the topics and individuals stated below, and also welcomes submissions for peripheral themes at their discretion.

  • Willard Boyle (2009 Nobel Prize in Physics for invention of the charge-coupled device, awarded jointly with American physicist George E. Smith, shared with physiscist Charles Kao)
  • Michael Smith (1993 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for work in developed site-directed mutagenesis, shared with Kary Mullis)
  • William Giauque (1949 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for studies of the properties of matter at temperatures close to absolute zero)
  • Michael Houghton (2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology for Medicine for discovery of Hepatitis C virus, received with Qui-Lim Choo, George Kuo, and Daniel W. Bradley)
  • Andrew Schally (1977 Nobel Prize in Physiology for discoveries concerning the peptide hormone production in the brain)
  • Henry Taube (1993 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for work on the mechanisms of electron transfer reactions, especially in metal complexes)

Please click here for more information: DMC Call for Contributors

%d bloggers like this: