Essay Prize: Nicholas C. Mullins Award

Nicholas C. Mullins Award

Student Essay Competition

Deadline for Submission: May 15, 2010
The Nicholas C. Mullins Award is awarded each year by the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) for an outstanding piece of scholarship by a graduate student in the field of Science and Technology Studies. The prize consists of a check for $US 1,000 and a plaque.

The competition is for graduate student papers in the field of science and technology studies, including unpublished papers, published articles, and dissertation chapters. Dissertation chapters should be adapted so as to make them “stand-alone.” The work may not be older than two years at the time of submission. A graduate student can only make one submission a year.

The intended readership for the papers is a general STS audience. All papers must be submitted in English. The paper should not exceed 10,000 words, including title, notes, and references. Papers longer than the limit will be disqualified.

The deadline for submission is May 15, 2010. Papers submitted after this date will not be considered for this year’s competition, and must be resubmitted the following year. Submissions must observe the following guidelines:

  • The paper must be submitted electronically, as an attachment to an email message, in MS Word or PDF format.
  • The subject line of the email message should read “4S Mullins submission”
  • The filename of the submission should consist of the first two significant words of the paper title (excluding articles such as “the” or “an”).
  • Authors must include the total word count immediately after the title on the first page of their submission.
  • To facilitate blind review, the author’s name, address, email address, and institutional affiliation should appear only in the covering e-mail.
  • Also in the covering email, authors must provide the name of their graduate program, the date they began study, and the date they expect to receive their degree.

Send the submission to the chair of the Nicholas C. Mullins jury, Professor Natasha Myers,

The winner will be privately notified immediately following the 2010 meeting in Tokyo. The award will be publicly announced at the 2011 Annual Meeting of 4S, and the winner is expected to attend this meeting.

For more information on the Society for Social Studies of Science and upcoming meetings, see

Further details on the Mullins Award and other 4S Prizes can be found here: